Chia Monsters Arlymone

Toys That Blinded Me With Science! My Favorites Captured In Art

Featured Artwork inspired by Chia Pets! “Chia Monsters” by Arlymone 

Cha-Cha-Cha-Chiiiia!

God I miss the 90s.  Mostly Because I was a kid with zero responsibilities, just running around with my explorer’s hat on looking for bugs, digging up what I thought were mummies in my backyard, and playing “field scientist” with a plastic Fisher Price Microscope.

Childhood nostalgia definitely kicks in when I start to think about all my favorite toys that had something to do with plants, bugs, flowers, rocks, and science fairs.  When toy nostalgia hits, I supercharge my memory bank and start web surfing like a mad woman!

This list was so fun to make, and I prefer to use artist renderings of toys or related artworks whenever I can.  There’s a lot of classic science toy reboots available today too, which is so very tempting.  I really do miss my toy chemistry set slides; you know, the ginormous pre-made ones.  Anyways, comment below with any related toys or contribute a top favorites lists or guest post of your own!

The Classic Ant Farm

Yes, those do appear to be miniature people inside the ant farm. Nice!

Toy Microscope

Wish mine was as massive as this one. Yikes! “Global Microscope” Artist: Dale Cody

 Chemistry Set

I really like this artist’s interpretation of the classic chemistry set. Artist: Toktobis

 Make Your Own Volcano Kits

I used to make rainbow volcanoes growing up. Love this illustration too by Wren12!

 Grown Your Own Carnivorous Plants

Grown your own venus fly trap kit were awesome! Along with butterfly bushes too. Artist: ritabuuk

 Sea Monkeys

Under a microscope, did your sea monkeys look like this? Artist: Ionahipri

Leave a Reply

